Skip to content

Of individuals, together

January 23, 2009

Nino’s mum, MM and many women bloggers are riled up against Sunjay Dutt’s comments about his sister and any woman who decided to keep her maiden name post marriage.
Like these girls who spoke out, I have kept my maiden name too. To show my solidarity I thought I’d write but luckily came across some inspiring words from who else – Obama. But this is young Obama in 1996 long before he contemplated politics. The Obamas were profiled by the New Yorker as a young Chicago couple and the excerpt is here. About Michelle he says,

“she is at once completely familiar to me, so that I can be myself and she knows me very well and I trust her completely, but at the same time she is also a complete mystery to me in some ways. And there are times when we are lying in bed and I look over and sort of have a start. Because I realize here is this other person who is separate and different and has different memories and backgrounds and thoughts and feelings.”

Beautiful.

In so many ways this describes us as people, wives and husbands. He recognizes and celebrates Michelle, the individual. And she, in taking his name is still that person he describes, losing none of her self, none of her dignity.

Sunjay Dutt it seems, is determined to strip us of ours no matter what our names.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Orange Jammies permalink
    January 28, 2009 4:07 pm

    Now why did that make me choke? Must be the sore throat, methinks.

    Ahem. Because of the not-so teensy weensy crush you have on him, methinks.

  2. Orange Jammies permalink
    January 30, 2009 3:26 am

    😆 My Boy has a way huger crush on the man than I ever will.

Leave a Reply

