Skip to content

Preity Zinta changed her mind

February 2, 2009

I am not so shocked anymore by all the exuberant support for Modi nowadays (I barf into my collar but that’s my own business thankyouverymuch). What I am shocked by now is Preity Zinta’s inexplicable change of heart.

What exactly does she mean by this

Do you plan to enter politics? More than one party has asked me to stand in the forthcoming elections but I have no interest in politics. Every political party is the same. I am open to supporting someone but not a party. I don’t support Hindu Muslim politics. I certainly don’t support what happened in Godhra. Even Narendra Modi must have realised this and it won’t happen again. Till last year, I didn’t support Modi but today I support him with all my heart. He should be India’s Prime Minister. Look at how he has administered Gujarat. Every politician has something bad to his name but Modi is one politician who also has something good to his name. If we have five states like Gujarat, India will shine.

OK so till last year she agreed that turning a blind eye to (and possibly orchestrating) the murdering and raping of Muslims was enough to call him a criminal but now that the gujjus are rolling in the money, she thinks he’ll be a good PM. Very excellent logic here by memsaab.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. aguy permalink
    February 2, 2009 10:01 pm

    man u do suck, isnt it? i m from ahmedabad and i know the reality about riots u were talking about. if you are a hindu, let me remid you the murders and rape of your mothers and sisters from muslims for 800 years. and for riots, just collect the number of hindu deaths in riots in gujarat from 1947 to this date. you will know who was raped and killed relentlessly. just 2002 riots happened in front of the satellite television doesn’t mean it was the first ever riots. all the riots before 2002 were done by muslims in gujarat. and anyways, what about 1984 anti-sikh riots in delhi? what you want to say about the role of congress government which is in power right now?

    Asking me whether I suck is probably rhetorical in your mind. Oh well.
    Actually I’d love to see the statistics and sources of all those deaths that you talk of from 1947. Please send them on so I can be educated. Secondly, regardless of the numbers I don’t subscribe to the tit-for-tat philosophy. I’m not going to have my kids live in a divided world because you still want to get back at me for what my great great gandfather did to yours. It’s an insular way to look at life and the future. I abhor the Congress for what they did in 1984 and I hate the BJP for the Bombay and Godhra riots. And no, Godhra was successfully suppressed even with satellite television. Any party that runs on religion and thus, division, doesn’t get my respect much less my vote. Just because I don’t like the Congress, doesn’t mean I have to like the BJP. I am dissatisfied by the choice of candidates and I’m damn well going to voice it.

  2. February 3, 2009 6:52 am

    Forgive the comparison, but hitler was a fantastic people-rouser, one who hoodwinked his entire country into believing he was serving the greater good. Modi’s able administration does not take away from the fact that this is a man who choose to not stop genocide, one who incited it even.
    It boils down to what’s important to each one of us as a citizen – ‘progress’ at the cost of justice and equality?
    I’d love a dynamic PM, but I’d love a secular PM better. Frankly, I think Ms Zinta loves to shoot her mouth off – also gujjus have alwasy been rolling in money. But the lady has to be here to really know that there is widespread economic segregation here. Only the majority gets richer. There, I said it out aloud.

    Hush, not so loud. Aren’t you scared of what your fellow Gujjus from Ahmedabad will think?

  3. February 4, 2009 6:02 am

    good god, girl, how do these jerks find you?

    heee hee, this one came looking for Preity Zinta (search words). Now I think maybe he was defending her, not Modi. I’m going to give him the benefit of the doubt :). He’s just a crazed fan!

  4. May 14, 2009 2:13 pm

    5 more states like Gujarat? I shudder to think. They say the moment you bring Hitler into an argument, you’ve lost. But I’m gonna agree with Nino’s Mum, Mussolini made the trains run on time, so is that all it take to be a great ruler?

Leave a Reply

