Skip to content

Getting closer

February 10, 2009

It’s taken us some time but we’ve become closer, I can tell. The old magic seems to be coming back. I don’t shrug off your embrace. You don’t hesitate to praise me in front of your friends. I took you out for your birthday today. You said I shouldn’t have made a fuss but your excited smile said something else. I asked you about your work, your plans for the future. You seemed reassured that I supported your every desire. You seemed relieved when I said “It’s your turn to dream.”

We talk about all sorts of things now. Even sex. You ask me if I have thought about having a baby. You try to sound casual but I see the longing in your eyes.

It’s taken me thrity years Ma, but we’ve become closer. I can tell.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Orange Jammies permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:05 pm

    That was beautiful.

    Gahhh…blushhh

  2. February 11, 2009 6:53 am

    Beautifully written and achingly felt.
    We girls always discover the tug of the umbilical chord a little too late in life. I’ve been here too: and I couldn’t have put it better.

    You are getting no sympathy from me, Miss. You see your mother every two weeks and you have Nino. Mere paas kya hai?

  3. February 11, 2009 12:27 pm

    *sniff*

    You know, this was in my drafts for some time. When I wrote it, i couldn’t post it. I needed some distance and I pretended it was fiction. Of course the cat is out of the bag I see.

  4. February 11, 2009 2:13 pm

    hi…found you through OJ. you write beautifully…i loved this piece.

    Thank you Sukanya. And Welcome!

  5. markritz permalink
    February 13, 2009 7:32 am

    I came here by accident…but after reading this…I know iv found somebody else who’s been in the same boat..I know exactly what you feel..believe me…I do

  6. February 13, 2009 7:36 am

    ignore the earlier comment
    I came here by accident- and found someone who knows exactly what I feel-Iv been in the same boat girl…its not a pleasant ride…but its amazing when u feel the magic come back…Iv hoped it will help if I spoke about it…but Im yet to get there…congrats…u have already…cherish it

    No need to ignore. A feeling shared far and wide, I see.

  7. February 13, 2009 9:57 am

    That’s touching!

    I echo Nino’s mom”We girls always discover the tug of the umbilical chord a little too late in life. ”

    Why, but why?! We should tell our daughters right away, no?

  8. February 17, 2009 9:52 am

    That made me miss my Mom so much. I wish she and I were in the same city.

    Damn, I’ll take same country right now!

  9. May 29, 2009 11:07 am

    What a lovely post!

    I didn’t really revisit my mother till my 30’s either:-)

Leave a Reply

