Skip to content

A-whard (please channel Urmila Matondkar)

June 8, 2009

Shockingly this award isn’t for who can wait the longest between posts. But it’s from a friend and I can see why – she’s a flesh-and-blood friend, not virtual and sooner or later we might meet and after we’ve talked about such-and-such teacher in 7th standard, talk might turn to blogging and she might need to fumble and look for excuses as to why she never a-wharded me anything. Such is a friend. You virtual ones are useless. I didn’t mean that – please read!

kreative_bloggerSeven things I love and award seven bloggers I love:

1. Film: yes I mean film and I mean it seriously. French are my favorite, I think film-making is in their blood. But I devour everything from B’wood to documentaries to shorts. I got to at least 4 film festivals in a year and when we have to make budget cuts in the house, movies are the last to go. Actually they never go.

2. J.D. Salinger

3. Animals/ Wildlife: As is obvious from this blog’s devotion to Veeru and Basanti. I am vegetarian almost entirely due to animal rights issues and it’s one of the driving principles in my life. Even the most helpless of humans, children and the old included, don’t bring out the emotion that a helpless animal can. It’s not thought out, it’s viscerally who I am. But yes cats are my favourite!

4. Beer: You have a very pregnant woman writing onΒ  a very hot muggy NY day, grrrrr.

5. Gujarati thali/food: Dhokla, muthiya, dal, kadi, aam ras. Oh you knew what I meant by gujarati thali?

6. My husband: Marrying him is my biggest accomplishment and I’ve done nothing to deserve him.

7. Water: Oceans and rivers, seas and lakes. I need to live close to water.

And the a-whard goes to: Since I’ve never awarded anyone before (i am useless too), I will start with my blogroll:

OJ who is my eyes and ears into Bombay, the home that will always be. And this is her second such award (claim it already!)

MM who will probably dismiss this because she gets too many awards already whattodo poor thing

Nino’s Mum who is my secret favouritest friend, she just doesn’t know it

Sujatha who intimidates me both with her writing and her mothering (in a good way)

Thinking Cramps who writes beautifully, just not enough

Tamil Punkster: who needs to write; NOW

Amrita who writes more posts than I pee in a day (and I’m pregnant!). And does it well (and i pee pretty well)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 10:53 am

    You don’t know how happy this makes me. Sniff. Sniff. I have been trying so hard to be intimidating from the day I could say my ABCs. The quest has been long and lonely and fraught with failure. Sniff. Finally! Someone has recognized my efforts! And that someone is you! Thank you! Sniff. Sniff.

    πŸ™‚

    Now, seriously. Thanks GoTB. Really appreciate the award and your kind words. Those are the two words that make up a lot of who I am – a mother and writer – and it feels good to be acknowledged. Loved your no. 6. Cheers!

    Sujatha, I hope you know that the word intimidating was used in the most complimentary and aspirational way possible.

  2. June 10, 2009 10:37 am

    oooh! Cant wait to start reading the list (minus Oj and MM of course, since I’m a regular.) I like your style.

    Iz! Unbeknown to you, I was an Iz regular until iz dropped off the face of the earth. I hear she’s back?? πŸ™‚

  3. June 10, 2009 11:58 am

    Yes I do, GoTB. The first part was totally tongue in cheek. πŸ™‚

  4. June 15, 2009 7:19 pm

    excuse me?! I have NEVER dismissed an award and I hope never to turn that rude. pbbffttt… at you.

  5. June 16, 2009 8:50 am

    I’m very happy I played traunt at work to check up on your blog πŸ™‚ *grinning like a pig-tailed school kid* thankoo!

  6. girlonthebridge permalink*
    June 16, 2009 7:26 pm

    NM – THAT’S what you did on your day off?? Wow, now I’m touched!

    MM – pbfftttt back nautanki

  7. June 19, 2009 7:32 am

    Wow…am honoured. Thank you so much. And what do you mean I don’t write enough? Hmpf…given that you post even more infrequently! Let’s change that.

  8. Orange Jammies permalink
    June 22, 2009 6:28 pm

    I’m here, I’m here! *screeches in screaming* The authorities didn’t notify me. Hmph!

  9. June 23, 2009 1:40 am

    I’ve been so out of the loop for so long, I think you’ve finally given me the impetus to write again. This is the kick in the kabooze I so woefully needed.

    Thank you.

    Really? really, really? ON I will stalk your blog once more and hold you to it.

Trackbacks

  1. Guess Who’s Back, Back Again « Wisdom Wears Neon Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

